Notice: class-feed.php is deprecated since version 4.7.0! Use fetch_feed() instead. in /var/www/html/somdev/wp-includes/functions.php on line 4007 LCME Accreditation Information « Office of Medical Education

LCME Accreditation Information

Liaison Committee on Medical Education (LCME) is the U.S. Department of Education recognized accrediting body for programs leading to the M.D. degree in the United States.  It also accredits M.D. programs in Canada, in cooperation with Committee on Accreditation of Canadian Medical Schools (CACMS).  The LCME is jointly sponsored by the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC) and the American Medical Association (AMA).


Wayne State University School of Medicine was held to the 132 standards, as documented in the LCME Functions and Structure of a Medical School (for schools with full accreditation surveys in the 2014-2015 academic year). The 132 standards are organized into 5 sections, as listed below:

  • Institutional Setting (IS) – 15 standards
  • Educational Program (ED) – 51 standards
  • Medical Students (MS) – 39 standards
  • Faculty (FA) – 13 standards
  • Resources for the Educational Program (ER) – 14 standards

In future LCME Survey Visits, Wayne State University School of Medicine will be held to the approved reformatted LCME Standards and Elements, which were established for schools with accreditation survey visits in 2015-2016 and beyond.

A summary of the LCME Standards Reformatting Project is provided below and also available on the LCME website by clicking here:

LCME Standards Reformatting Project

In 2012, the LCME initiated a “self-study” to reorganize the format of the standards that have been in place since 2002. During the two-year process, members of the LCME, and the medical education community as a whole, were asked to contribute suggestions for streamlining the standards, while reducing redundancy and improving clarity.

A draft version of the reformatted standards was made available to the public for comment in July 2013, and in November 2013 public comment was also solicited at a public hearing held at the AAMC Annual Meeting in Philadelphia. The LCME Secretariat received numerous recommendations from the public that were ultimately included in the final version of the reformatted standards.

The 2015-2016 standards and elements were approved by the LCME in February 2014, and are now in effect for all accreditation activities scheduled to take place after July 2015. This includes full, preliminary, provisional, and limited survey visits that take place after July 2015, as well as the submission of follow-up items (e.g., status reports) due to the LCME after July 2015.

Details on the history and objectives of the reformatting project are available in the introduction to the Functions and Structure of a Medical School, March 2014(i.e., the reformatted 2015-2016 standards). Some of the key changes evident in the final version include:

  • A reduction in the total number of standards from 132 to 12;
  • A concise statement of the principles that represent each standard;
  • A set of elements that collectively constitute compliance with each standard;
  • The elimination of redundancy across the standards, including the deletion of standards found to have inadequate compliance measures;
  • The incorporation of annotation text into the standards and/or elements; and
  • The use of simple, declarative sentences.

In addition to the publication of the 2015-2016 standards, Functions and Structure of a Medical School, March 2014, the LCME Secretariat has prepared a crosswalk guide that demonstrates where specific sections of the 2014-2015 standards and annotations reside within the 2015-2016 standards and elements, as well as other minor changes stemming from the reformatting.


Additional Resources